XboxHacker BBS
 
*
Welcome, %1$s. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 01, 2016, 10:46:30 PM




Pages: 1

Author Topic: Does Xecuter connectivity kit brick drives?`  (Read 4371 times)

pnd

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 14
    • View Profile
Does Xecuter connectivity kit brick drives?`
« on: July 29, 2006, 04:01:24 AM »

Okay, i heard alot of speaking about the xecuter connectivity bricking peoples xbox360 drives. Is this the case, or is it just people bricking their drives in other ways and blaming the kit?

I just bought the kit, but i am waiting for a realese from birdy with a stealth mode till i am flashing.

So, do you think i should "risk" using my connectivity or!?
Logged

SFW

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
Re: Does Xecuter connectivity kit brick drives?`
« Reply #1 on: July 29, 2006, 04:22:27 AM »

No people blaming theres nothing wrong with the kit.
You only have to align the wires the rite way....
Check out the site and download the ODDpdf
Logged

pas7680

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 40
    • View Profile
Re: Does Xecuter connectivity kit brick drives?`
« Reply #2 on: July 29, 2006, 04:59:36 AM »

I've bricked a drive using this kit, i've actually blown two kits while doing boxes. It's down to the power regulation in the kit, if the power spikes when turning on it can blow the unit which in turn blows a chip in the dvd drive. The two that i've blown have both been after about half a dozen uses. If your thinking of using it then make sure your pc dosen't have a poor power supply.
Logged

wateva

  • Hacker
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: Does Xecuter connectivity kit brick drives?`
« Reply #3 on: July 29, 2006, 08:19:56 AM »

that's y I only use slax linux boot disk.. :D

it sux to reboot my PC, but I won't brick any drive by doing this.. :)


time is just a small price to pay for security..
Logged

linnx88

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 13
    • View Profile
Re: Does Xecuter connectivity kit brick drives?`
« Reply #4 on: July 29, 2006, 07:43:45 PM »

executer's kit -> risk involved.......30$
crossed wires -> risk involved.......FREE


Used the wires after Slax didn't work.....worked like a charm... just don't hold em for long and get 1k resistors to stick in there instead of wires and you're safe....or if you use wires...just hold em together, turn on the box and immediately release the wires....works every time
Logged

uberfry

  • Xbox Hacker
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
    • View Profile
Re: Does Xecuter connectivity kit brick drives?`
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2006, 07:46:37 PM »

"Does Xecuter connectivity kit brick drives?" is like asking "Do guns kill people?"
The answer is: no.
It's not the kit that bricks the drive, it's the people that use it :)
Logged

hcrip

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 23
    • View Profile
Re: Does Xecuter connectivity kit brick drives?`
« Reply #6 on: July 29, 2006, 09:21:45 PM »

Actually, those Xecuter 360 Kits are $#!t.  I have had 3 fry on me and they were used more than a dozen times before happening.  Also, they each fried in different machines.  It happens right on boot up, and only 1 out of the 3 were bricked.  Just my .02 worth
Logged
Xbox / 360 / PS2 / PSP / NDS - Repair & Mods

Plenty of References on Xbox-Scene / eBay

bigcat

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Does Xecuter connectivity kit brick drives?`
« Reply #7 on: July 29, 2006, 10:43:37 PM »

There is a diagram posted
http://www.team-xecuter.com/forums/attachment.php?attachmentid=1282&d=1151498606

I just want to say in general; dont risk briking your drive by being lazy and not researching before doing anything, but most people have a patch around their eye these days. ;D

I will be getting the xeno kit (same thing) shortly as the VT6421L did not work with my hitachi drive. (so much for the hype on that card. I guess its only for samsungs)

Logged

aolers

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 47
    • View Profile
Re: Does Xecuter connectivity kit brick drives?`
« Reply #8 on: July 29, 2006, 11:21:40 PM »

Haha.  You must not have your hitachi in mode b.  The 6421L worked flawlessly for my hitachi, and I've flashed and reflashed it multiple times already.
Logged

xDREAM

  • Master Hacker
  • ****
  • Posts: 124
    • View Profile
Re: Does Xecuter connectivity kit brick drives?`
« Reply #9 on: July 30, 2006, 10:24:41 AM »

what method does the kit use to make the hitachi go into modeb?
Logged

uberfry

  • Xbox Hacker
  • *****
  • Posts: 862
    • View Profile
Re: Does Xecuter connectivity kit brick drives?`
« Reply #10 on: July 30, 2006, 10:58:51 AM »

resistor + switch
Logged

Utter Chaos

  • Master Hacker
  • ****
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
    • My 360-blog
Re: Does Xecuter connectivity kit brick drives?`
« Reply #11 on: July 31, 2006, 06:53:27 AM »

that's y I only use slax linux boot disk.. :D

it sux to reboot my PC, but I won't brick any drive by doing this.. :)


time is just a small price to pay for security..
I actually use(d) slax to get the Hitachi in ModeB without rebooting.
Logged

wateva

  • Hacker
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: Does Xecuter connectivity kit brick drives?`
« Reply #12 on: July 31, 2006, 08:02:24 AM »

you still need to reboot to go to windows, right??? unless you did use "wine" or some windows interpreter in linux, so you just log in and flash it. :)
Logged

Utter Chaos

  • Master Hacker
  • ****
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
    • My 360-blog
Re: Does Xecuter connectivity kit brick drives?`
« Reply #13 on: July 31, 2006, 08:54:32 AM »

you still need to reboot to go to windows, right??? unless you did use "wine" or some windows interpreter in linux, so you just log in and flash it. :)
You don't need to reboot when you run the slax-CD in a Virtual Machine. I've documented the process in my blog if you're interested:
http://utterchaosx.blogspot.com/2006/07/running-virtual-machine-with-live-cd.html
Logged

wateva

  • Hacker
  • ***
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: Does Xecuter connectivity kit brick drives?`
« Reply #14 on: July 31, 2006, 09:37:02 AM »

lol.. great tutorial.. :) tnxs..
Logged

eencoder

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Does Xecuter connectivity kit brick drives?`
« Reply #15 on: July 31, 2006, 02:21:25 PM »

I can second that tks for the tutorial mate....  ;D
Logged

eencoder

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Does Xecuter connectivity kit brick drives?`
« Reply #16 on: July 31, 2006, 02:23:00 PM »

Although I would like to point out that as long as your carefull and look around this forum then you should have no problems with the connectivity kit. I have flashed and reflashed my two 360s on several occassions with different pcs and have had no problems as yet with the kit....
Logged

bigcat

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 18
    • View Profile
Re: Does Xecuter connectivity kit brick drives?`
« Reply #17 on: July 31, 2006, 10:07:42 PM »

you still need to reboot to go to windows, right??? unless you did use "wine" or some windows interpreter in linux, so you just log in and flash it. :)
You don't need to reboot when you run the slax-CD in a Virtual Machine. I've documented the process in my blog if you're interested:
http://utterchaosx.blogspot.com/2006/07/running-virtual-machine-with-live-cd.html

Excellent tutorial.
I recommend putting it on a PDF file and uploading it to several other places.
Also you should post it in xbox-scence tutorials.

Thanks
Logged
Pages: 1
 
 

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP SMF 2.0.11 | SMF © 2015, Simple Machines

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM