XboxHacker BBS

Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 16, 2014, 09:13:24 AM

Login with username, password and session length

Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: SSv1 versus SSv2 (potential Kreon flaws)  (Read 21802 times)
Zak

View Profile
« on: January 21, 2010, 09:33:51 AM »

There seems to be a lot of confusion in the scene concerning the use of SSv2 over SSv1, so I decided to create a thread dedicated to the topic.

Right now, even c4eva seems unsure which SSv1 disks are fine and which are dangerous.
I am not an expert on this topic so please correct me when I write something untrue.

Here is what Abgx360's quickstart text about SSv2 explains:
http://pastebin.com/f1e0c6147

According to this, there are three sorts of SS:
1) SSv1 ripped by Kreon firmware
2) SSv1 ripped by old 0800 360 firmware
3) SSv2 ripped by new 0800 360 firmware (>1.60 afaik)

There is no dispute that Type 3 is safe.
According to c4eva, Type 2 is also safe but indistinguishable from Type 1.

The questions arise when it comes to Type 1 :
Since PC drives lack the capability to read angles, Kreon firmware only simulates them whereas 0800 does actual angle readings (multiple in case of SSv2). c4eva seems to believe that this is acceptable for Wave 1 and Wave 2 games but (for some reason) not for Wave 3 and above.

I can only speculate what his reasons for that assumption are.
My two theories:

A) He is afraid that the case mentioned in Abgx360's ("If a game was intentionally or accidentally mastered with one or more angles that deviated far from their CCRT targets, it would need to be ripped with a drive that does actual angle measurements in order to mimic the original disc's responses") will occur soon or has already occurred. Since Wave 3 games are still newly released, they might be affected by this.

B) Something changed on newer disks that makes the fake Kreon readings stand out.