Deprecated: preg_replace(): The /e modifier is deprecated, use preg_replace_callback instead in /home/xbh360/public_html/Sources/Load.php(225) : runtime-created function on line 3
What causes "0 reading" error with nandpro 20b?
XboxHacker BBS
 
*
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 21, 2014, 03:12:58 AM


Login with username, password and session length


Pages: 1
  Print  
Author Topic: What causes "0 reading" error with nandpro 20b?  (Read 2917 times)
bill16504
Member
**
Posts: 15


View Profile
« on: January 05, 2010, 12:17:28 AM »

I've had success reading/writing a handful of 16 meg 360's, but now I'm trying a 512 Jasper and I've had no luck at all.

- ~12" cable, 1n4148 diode soldered on mobo w/ black line facing mobo
- jtag - 1n4148 diodes used, nanj2d2.2 soldered to rf panel
- lpt set to "normal" worked for 16's, now won't detect controller at all
- same with spp, no controller detected
- lpt set to epp 1.7 & 1.9, 378 detected, flashconfig is 00aa3020
- tried this on 2 separate pc's just to be safe but get same results.

I've tried reading the whole 512, I've tried just reading the first 1000 blocks, I've tried breaking it up into 200 blocks. Every time, at no specific block, it'll quit reading and give the "0 reading at" error. One attempt at reading the entire 512 I got 10 hours into it then "0 reading" error. I reboot and retry and get 2 minutes in to it.

I've tried ~ dozen times now. I always end up with the "0 reading" error, always after a random amount of reading. I've rewired the console twice now, thinking it may be a wiring error. I didn't think the wiring was the problem because I can atleast get the process started, but I rewired it anyhow.

Anyone have any insite?
Logged
groxack
Hacker
***
Posts: 69


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: January 06, 2010, 01:23:33 PM »

quote from tiros [I fixed this exact problem on my ol Thinkpad like so:
DB25.11--->|-----J1D2.4
That symbol is a diode Wink
I used a 1N4153, a 1N914 I think would also be good. Any switching diode really.]

this work for me bro just make sure to solder the diode directly on the 360.And if you don t get it, search for diagrams on free60.org.
Logged
bill16504
Member
**
Posts: 15


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2010, 01:48:32 PM »

Thanks for the reply.

Yep, I'm already using a 1n4148 there. That's the way I did it for all the other consoles I've done, also. In fact, this time with this 512 giving me problems, I even tried taking it off. Was no good taking it off, though. I couldn't get a good flashconfig with it off.

That being said, I have made progress with this 512.

I'm using the same cable I've used for every other 360, which is made up from network cable. I assumed that "0 reading" meant just that... the pc wasn't getting any signal. So I swapped out the ground cable with a little heavier, 22g. stranded speaker wire. It's running from db18 to j2b1.12 and I did get an entire read of the full 512 (took forever).

I did get about 10 2xx errors. I'm dumping the entire 512 again to make sure those are just bad blocks and not a bad read. I have read we don't need to dump the entire 512, but I'm doing it anyway as this is the first console that's given me trouble, so I'm going to dump it a bunch of times.
« Last Edit: January 06, 2010, 01:55:23 PM by bill16504 » Logged
maximilian0017
Xbox Hacker
*****
Posts: 684


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: January 06, 2010, 03:38:49 PM »

I did get about 10 2xx errors. I'm dumping the entire 512 again to make sure those are just bad blocks and not a bad read. I have read we don't need to dump the entire 512, but I'm doing it anyway as this is the first console that's given me trouble, so I'm going to dump it a bunch of times.

The only way to check if you have a good Nand dump is to dump it 3 times and compare, they should all be the same and the image should be readable with the diverse tools(don't know if they all support 512MB now).
 
Logged
bill16504
Member
**
Posts: 15


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 06, 2010, 04:18:54 PM »

I did get about 10 2xx errors. I'm dumping the entire 512 again to make sure those are just bad blocks and not a bad read. I have read we don't need to dump the entire 512, but I'm doing it anyway as this is the first console that's given me trouble, so I'm going to dump it a bunch of times.

The only way to check if you have a good Nand dump is to dump it 3 times and compare, they should all be the same and the image should be readable with the diverse tools(don't know if they all support 512MB now).
 
Right. I am dumping the full 512 a second time. If I get the same errors in the same location then I'll do a 3rd dump of just the range where those back blocks are located.

For all the past 360 I've dumped/written, I had done 2 dumps and they had always matched, so I moved forward. They were all 16 meg nands through. This is my first 512 and my first problems, so like I said I'm going to do a bunch of dumps. Hopefully it'll just end up being that bad ground I had.
Logged
bill16504
Member
**
Posts: 15


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2010, 01:22:51 PM »

Problem resolved. It was simply a bad ground cable.
Logged
Pages: 1
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.11 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines LLC

Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS! Dilber MC Theme by HarzeM